Help Center

My Keychain

Your keychain is where you can store Access Keys that somebody else has given you, in order so that you can access information in their account quickly. Your keychain makes it easy for you to quickly switch between using different Access Keys if you've received more than one key from other companies or people.

You don't have to add all Access Keys to your keychain, and it might make sense to skip this if you don't plan on using a particular key again. However, in that case, you will have to click the appropriate link in the email notice whenever you want to see the information that the key is protecting.

There is no reason to add an Access Key to your keychain if you are only trying to allow other people access to information in your account.

The person who gave you the Access Key may revoke your access at any time. Keys are not automatically removed from your keychain, even if they are invalid.

You may assign a friendly name to each Access Key you store in your keychain, but this is only to make it easier for you to tell your keys apart. The key value is given to you by somebody else. Only the key value is important for you to have access to their account.

Adding a Key

There are 3 different ways to add a key to your keychain:

  1. If you received an access invitation: Click the link to accept the invitation. Accepting an invitation automatically adds the key to your keychain.
  2. If you received an alert/report email: Sign into the website using your username and password, and then click any link in an email which contains the access key, If the key is not already in your keychain, you will be asked if you want to add that key.
  3. If you already know the key: copy and paste the key (or a link containing the key) directly into the “Add Key to Keychain” form which is accessed under the “My Keychain” link in the User Menu. The key will be extracted and added to your keychain.

Using a Key

To use a key, view your keychain and click the “Use Now” button next to the key you want to use. The screen will change and you will see the information that the other user is sharing with you. The website header changes color to indicate that you are viewing shared information from somebody else's account.

The “Use Now” button only appears if the key is still valid.

When you are done viewing the shared information, you can return to your normal account by clicking “Break Out” under the User Menu at the top right of the screen.